I’ve recently ventured into the world of Keto. Keto is short for Ketogenic or the metabolic process called ketosis. This is a low carb high fat diet. The body uses stored fat instead of glucose(Carbs/Sugar) for energy. Resulting in the production of Ketones. Ketones are energy molecules, much like blood sugar – which turn into fuel for your brain once the liver does it’s thing and converts it into energy! Yes, I am eating fat to lose fat AND stabilize my blood sugars.
I’m confusing myself as I try and explain! Ketogenic Diet explained clearly http://www.dietdoctor.com/

My current Macros are 1700 cal a day, 5% carbohydrates, 20% protein and 75% fat

Keto Calculator

Why Keto? Well, first off my teenage football player is doing Keto. He’s working on getting in shape. I did not want to be a hypocrite! So, I joined him. After a few weird readings for a couple weeks my blood sugars are now AWESOME after 7 weeks. I sit between 4.2 and 6.4. Right now the only adjustment I have made with medication is with my Toujeo. I’ve dropped 10 units.

This page is called Raw Raw Raw Diabetic. I’m not being hypocritical. Never have I claimed doing raw vegan for moral reasons. It has always been about my diabetes and health. Unfortunately, life changes along with budget. If I had my own personal cook and a unlimited funds I would be Raw again no problem .
With that said I still do not eat a lot of meat or animal products. If you look in some Keto groups you will see a lot of meat and animal fat. I can’t do it. I eat meat every couple of days. My primary source of fat is avocado, coconut oil, heavy cream and macadamia nuts. Sometimes I will indulge in bacon . I still love my greens for protein.

It’s been a few years since I was raw vegan. That journey was amazing and resulted in becoming pregnant w a beautiful little girl. But, there were also other health benefits. My blood sugars were awesome, cholesterol went back to normal and my kidneys repaired themselves. Just overall good health. Guess what? I’ve seen the same results doing Keto. What’s the common denominator removed from my diet? Refined carbohydrates , grains and processed foods. While doing this I’ve also removed high glycemic fruits as my body doesn’t need them and will not go into ketosis eating them.

Let’s talk sugar! Refined sugar, Coconut palm sugar, honey, maple syrup, unsweetened apple sauce and brown rice syrup are all used in cooking and baking. We are fooled to see “no sugar added” I recently bought something that said this and read the ingredients after to see sweetened with grape juice!
Very simple. If it has a glycemic index it will spike your blood sugars!  Some glycemic index numbers higher than others causing a bigger spike.
Honey, I still use honey. But, I use it for medicinal purposes sparingly.

When it comes down to it it’s still all Sugar.
Here’s a great page with awesome info on sweeteners and glycemic indexes.
http://www.eatthis.com/sweeteners/

I use two different natural sweeteners . Monk Fruit and Swerve. I still like my dates as a treat once in awhile. Sadly, the toddler gets most of them in her smoothies because they just don’t fit into my carbohydrate count 🤣😋https://draxe.com/medjool-dates/

Note: I am not a doctor , nurse or nutritionist. I’m just a type 2 diabetic trying to survive in a world full of carbohydrates.

I am medically supervised. As diabetics should be. Don’t make adjustments to your diet without consulting your diabetic care team.

And lastly..ketogenic and ketoacidosis are 2 totally different things!

https://www.perfectketo.com/keto-healthy-ketosis-vs-ketoacidosis/

Cheers! Xoxo Andy