I actually began this venture on Monday March 17, 2014.  Time was not on my side last week. I think I spent most of my days trying to figure out what to eat! After a few meals that I would not feed to my worst enemy, I think I got this. 

Monday March 17, 2014

Today is the first day of the rest of my life. Reincarnation?

I cannot do this alone. I need guidance. I need to call the Diabetes Education Center and get help with this. I’m terrified of bottoming out. Thankfully, they were able to get me an appointment that day with both a nurse and nutritionist. Being over tired, I accidently cleared all my information from my metre. I just made my day more difficult.

The Diabetes Education Center was extremely helpful.  Once I sat down with my nurse Anne, I broke down in tears. I never really knew how bad the depression was. This is when I realized I have finally I hit rock bottom. I’m making the right choice.  Apparently my blood pressure was dangerously high. 4 black coffees, 3 hours sleep and an emotional breakdown. I guess so. I have checked it since and it is perfect.

Oops I did not have any numbers from my meter to give the nurse. I did however k now my 3 month reading 0.089. A little high. I have been seeing more highs than lows the past couple months. My scale for insulin has been 14, 16, and 20. My dinner injection used to be 17.  As of today my new scale is 14, 14, and 16. No way! I have to check every 2 hours now rather than 4. Night time 45 units.

I also met with Angie, my nutritionist. She is pretty awesome and informative. We discussed carbohydrates and proteins.  A big concern while following a raw diet is making sure you is getting enough of everything. My instruction were to log everything and email it in. Ok! I need minimum 150g of carbohydrates a day.

Meal Plan for Monday March 17, 2014

Breakfast: Strawberries and Blackberries covered with raw sprouted nuts and seeds topped with raw coconut and cinnamon.  Total 15g of carbohydrates

Lunch: Spring mix salad with shredded carrots and beats topped with seeds and raw dressing. *Chaga tea with raw honey. Total 17g carbohydrates.

Dinner: Mock refried beans (sunflower seeds and walnuts with tomatoes and spices ground)

            Mock sour cream (macadamia nuts, water and lemon juice)

            Guacamole and a *Pineapple cilantro salad on a bed of lettuce Total 33g of carbohydrates

Snack: Raw organic bar Total 36g carbohydrates

 

*Chaga tea is not considered RAW. You need boiling water for tea. I ignore this since there are so many benefits to this tea.

http://www.chagamountain.com/health-benefits.html

*Pineapple, I have not been able to eat even a slice of pineapple without seeing drastic highs. This is a test.

Readings every 2 hours

6.5/5.2  7.0/6.5  5.6 before bed/snack

 

Tuesday March 18. 2014

Today’s scale is 14 units straight across.

I’m still feeling motivated! Last night’s dinner was GROSS! But, I have a lot made. I will eat it for lunch with my nose plugged?  I still cannot believe I am doing this. My morning reading was still a little high.8.9.

Breakfast: Chocolate banana pudding with strawberries, blackberries, coconut and seeds.      Pudding consists of left over mock sour cream with 1 banana, 1 tbsp flaxseeds and 1tbsp cacao nibs. Total Carbohydrates 43g

Lunch: Leftover Dinner from last night. YUK!

Dinner: *Pasta Bolognese, Zucchini noodles tossed in rich tomato red pepper basil marinara sauce, sunflower seed and sundried tomato sausage, topped with almond parmesan.

Dessert: Chocolate banana cake! Yes, 100% raw

*I have no idea about carbohydrates as this was from a wonder restaurant down the street called RAW AURA. Fabulous!

http://www.raw-aura.com/

Readings every 2 hours

Morning Fast 8.9  9.2/6.7   6.3/5.8 6.2 before bed

 

Wednesday March 19, 2014

9.2 morning fast? WHAT? It was 6.2 before bed? What is going on? Time to call the nurse for an insulin adjustment! My night time injection was increased to 48 from 45..

Breakfast: Chocolate banana pudding with strawberries, blackberries, coconut and seeds.      Pudding consists of left over mock sour cream with 1 banana, 1 tbsp flaxseeds and 1tbsp cacao nibs. Total Carbohydrates 43g

Lunch: 4 slices of living bread. Sprouted sunflower, sesame seeds and spiced onion bread. (From Raw Aura) with tomato, cucumber, red pepper and broccoli sprouts

These seeds have more carbohydrates than I thought! I guess the above menus are only a little higher.

Guessing about 17g of carbohydrates

Dinner: Raw Pad Thai. A mixed of veggies tossed in a raw Thai sauce. Raw Aura again

Dessert: Blueberry Cheese Cake. Still Raw..

Carbohydrates unknown

Daily readings: A little high? What is going on?

Morning fast 9.2,  7.7/6.2  7.8/7.4  8.6/8.8

Thursday March 20, 2014

OMG! SO SICK! I know it is not detox. My little boy is home sick today too.

I did my regular fruit bowl with seeds and nuts for breakfast. The rest of the day is a right off. I want homemade chicken soup with bone broth. Off 100% raw today. I truly believe I am getting the same benefit from the broth as I would eating raw.

Morning fast reading was a little bit better being 8.

Injection scale 14 straight across

Breakfast: Chocolate banana pudding with strawberries, blackberries, coconut and seeds.      Pudding consists of left over mock sour cream with 1 banana, 1 tbsp flaxseeds and 1tbsp cacao nibs. Total Carbohydrates 43g

Lunch: No lunch or injection. I am not feeling well. Chaga tea and raw honey to keep me regulated.

Dinner: Chicken Soup

Snack: * Yonana’s 1 banana and half cup strawberries 30g Carbohydrate

Total Carbohydrate 40 (ish)

            *Yonanas, best invention ever.  http://yonanas.com/

Daily readings

Morning fast 8, 6.3/6.3  7.1/6.3 7.2

 

Friday March 21, 2014

Shoot me. Please? Today is a right off.  All I can do is swallow more soup. I have eaten soup all day. Even for breakfast.

Morning fast 7.4 12/8.7  7.8/7.2 10.2  WAH! These numbers scream SICK! Oh no! I am guilty of too many egg noodles in my soup. Explains the 10.2. But, I cannot explain the rest of the day.

 

Saturday March 22, 2014

Fasting reading is high again! 8! I’m still so sick. Between me and my son, I think we polished off an entire pot of soup yesterday. I am back on raw today.  Not with enthusiasm. I started to prepare the ingredients for Walnut Mushroom burgers last night. I had to soak the walnuts and pumpkin seeds. These burgers were dehydrated all day today. Looking forward to just cuddling up with my husband and son to watch a movie.

Still on a 14 scale right across

Breakfast: Strawberry, avocado salad topped with seeds, raw salted almonds and cinnamon.

Total carbohydrates 17g

Lunch: 2 dates, 4 olives, 1 pickle and mixed raw salted nuts. Chaga tea with honey.

Total Carbohydrates 17g

Dinner: Walnut mushroom burgers on a bed of spring mixed with raw date dressing. 11.7g Carbohydrate per patty.

Snack: Popcorn shhhhhhh! 1 cup

Oooo yeah! That was good! http://www.rawmazing.com/burgers-the-raw-food-way/

Total Carbohydrates 32g

Today’s readings

Morning fast 8, 7.2/6.9   7.8/7.2  6.7/5.9

 

Sunday March 22, 2014

I woke up this morning to RAW chocolate chip cookies made by my 9 year old boy. God Bless his little heart. However, he did not follow a recipes and he used my nuts for tonight’s dinner.  HA! I did eat half of one. He was so mad at me. I told him to try it. He refused. I win.

I am still feeling a bit “off” My poor little man is very ill. He went to the doctors today and was put on adult strength antibiotics for Strep throat. My poor baby.

Today’s dinner will only be 90% raw. I am craving fish and dear son used up my nuts.

Breakfast: Chocolate banana pudding with strawberries, blackberries, coconut and seeds.      Pudding consists of left over mock sour cream with 1 banana, 1 tbsp flaxseeds and 1tbsp cacao nibs. Total Carbohydrates 43g

Lunch:. Dinner: Walnut mushroom burgers on a bed of spring mix

Total Carbohydrates 22g

Dinner: Pan fried Sole with mango salsa, spring mix with apples and date citrus dressing.

Total carbohydrates 36g

Today’s readings

Morning fast 7.4   6.9/6.3  6.1/5.9 6. 7/6.9

Snack: YONANA

 

 

Monday March 24, 2014

I am so tired! My poor little man was up SCREECHING in the middle of the night. Strep throat and an ear infection. Oh my!  I’m running on 2-3 hours sleep and miserable. I am feeling 60% better. I think being on 90% raw has helped me fight this. Pretty awesome. I was already impressed by my blood sugar readings. I can officially say my readings are down by about 25% and my insulin intake by 2-3 units at lunch and dinner.

Breakfast: Strawberries and Blackberries covered with raw sprouted nuts and seeds topped with raw coconut and cinnamon.  Total 15g of carbohydrates

Lunch: No lunch. Chaga Tea with raw honey

Dinner: Green shake and strawberries with raw chocolate granola by LIVE RAW.

Total carbohydrates 60g

Snack: half raw bar 15g

Today’s readings

Morning fast 7, 7/6.9  6.8/6.2  6.7/5.9

 

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Now, I am all caught up on my journal. I had to type out everything I had written for the past week.

Today I am still motivated. I had a few slip ups. But, at least they were healthy slip ups. I go with what my body is craving. Today my body is craving VEGGIES! However, I have no idea what I am making for dinner tonight for me. Maybe I will have just a raw soup with salad. I still have a cute little boy home with me. My time is limited.

Breakfast: Strawberry chia pudding topped with coconut. Total carbohydrates 34.8g

As of right now, I have no interest in lunch.